Last updated: January 23, 2023

Sub-national Laws

Are sub-national jurisdictions permitted to have smoke-free laws?


If yes, are they allowed to be more stringent than national law?


If yes, do one or more sub-national jurisdictions have smoke-free laws more stringent than national law?


A brief comment on the extent of sub-national legislation:

Fifteen out of 32 federal entities (31 states and one federal district) in Mexico have comprehensive smoke free laws – D.F. (2008), Tabasco (2009), Morelos (2012), Veracruz (2012), Zacatecas (2012), the State of Mexico (2012), Nuevo León (2013), Baja California (2013), Baja California Sur (2014), Sinaloa (2014), Oaxaca (2015), Chiapas (2019), and Aguascalientes (2019), Jalisco (2020), and Yucatan (2020).