Last updated: September 21, 2020

Enforcement Authorities

Authorized Agency
Duty to Enforce

Departments of Sanitation and Health; Environmental Police Unit; Information, Culture, Tourism staff; Finance Department; Industry and Commerce Department

All places where smoking is prohibited

The Tobacco Control Law establishes a Tobacco Control Inspection Authority, which has authority to "supervise on tobacco smoking in prohibited places." Agreement No. 1067 specifies five agencies which have a duty to "conduct actual, regular inspections of non-smoking areas." However, it is unclear how the authority to inspect is coordinated or split among these agencies.

To more fully align with FCTC Art. 8 and the FCTC Art. 8 Guidelines, the law should specify which agencies have a duty to inspect specific types of public places, workplaces and public transport.